Tethtoril's Bookshelf

Best of the Realms, Book I
Novel Anthology

WotC Code:

Product Type: Novel Anthology
ISBN Number: 0-7869-3024-1
Author: Various
Cover Artist: Mark Zug
Release Date: November 2003
Format: Paperback (336 pages)

This novel anthology, is to mark the 10th anniversary of the "Realms of..." novel anthologies. There have been eight Forgotten Realms anthologies (see below) and Wizards of the Coast are inviting FR fans to select which short stories from those anthologies should be included in this new collection. A new short story by R A Salvatore is to be included in the collection.

The short stories included in this anthology are as follows (in survey rank order):

1. "Rite of Blood" -- Elaine Cunningham (Realms of the Underdark)
2. "Elminster at the Magefair" -- Ed Greenwood (Realms of Valor)
3. "Darksword" -- Troy Denning (Realms of Shadow)
4. "Blood Sport" -- Christie Golden (Realms of Infamy)
5. "Six of Swords" -- William W. Connors (Realms of Magic)
6. "The Rose Window" -- Monte Cook (Realms of Mystery)
7. "The First Moonwell" -- Douglas Niles (Realms of Magic)
8. "The Greatest Hero Who Ever Died" -- J. Robert King (Realms of Infamy)
9. "Tertius and the Artifact" -- Jeff Grubb (Realms of the Arcane)
10. "Red Ambition" -- Jean Rabe (Realms of Magic)
11. "The Common Spell" -- Kate Novak-Grubb (Realms of Magic)
12. "Assassin's Shadow" -- Jess Lebow (Realms of Shadow)
13. "And the Dark Tide Rises" -- Keith Francis Strohm (Realms of the Deep)

Titles from the Forgotten Realms Anthologies series:

Other titles in the Best of the Realms:


Return to the Novels Page