Tethtoril's Bookshelf

Realms of the Dragons
Forgotten Realms Anthology

WotC Code:

Product Type: Novel
ISBN Number: 0-7869-3394-1
Author: Various authors
Cover Artist: Matt Stawicki
Release Date: October 2004
Format: Paperback book (372 pages)

This is a collection of short stories by various authors and is based on the 2004-2006 trilogy by Richard Lee Byers entitled - The Year of Rogue Dragons.

The following is a description by WotC taken from the product:

'Raging dragons threaten to destroy civilization on Faerun, but that hasn't always been the case.
There have even been times when humans and dragons have worked together to preserve life and combat evil.

Of course, that doesn't happen very often. Most of the time, they just try to kill each other and steal as much treasure as they can in the process.

The collection of all new stories by Forgotten Realms creator Ed Greenwood; New York Times best-selling authors Elaine Cunningham, Richard Baker, Lisa Smedman, and R.A. Salvatore; The Year of Rogue Dragons author Richard Lee Byers; and many more, bring the myriad sides of the dragons of Faerun to life.

The Year of Rogue Dragons has only just begun, but the history of that powerful race of enchanted creatures is long, frightening, and beautiful indeed.'

The following short stories are within:

  • Soulbound - Paul S Kemp
  • First Flight - Edward Bolme
  • Gorlist's Dragon - Elaine Cunningham
  • The Keeper of Secrets - Ed Greenwood
  • The Topaz Dragon - Jess Lebow
  • Wickless in the Nether - R.A Salvatore
  • Serpestrillvyth - Richard Baker
  • Waylaid - Thomas M Reid
  • Standard Delving Procedure - Lisa Smedman
  • An Icy Heart - Voronica Whitney-Robinson
  • Penitential Rites - Keith Francis Strohm
  • How Sharper than a Serpent's Tooth - Dave Gross
  • Beer with a Fat Dragon - Don Bassingthwaite
  • The Prisoner of Hulburg - Richard Lee Byers


Other titles in Forgotten Realms Anthologies Series:

See also the Realms of the Dragons 2 anthology.

Return to the Novels Page