Candlekeep Forum
Candlekeep Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Private Messages | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Realmslore
 Sages of Realmslore
 How should I pronounce this?
 New Topic  New Poll New Poll
 Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

maurezen
Acolyte

Russia
26 Posts

Posted - 08 Nov 2005 :  13:34:52  Show Profile  Visit maurezen's Homepage Send maurezen a Private Message  Reply with Quote  Delete Topic
Hi folks!
I'm a novice here, and not as smart in English as I should be. I was always wondering, how should I pronounce "a" in "balor"? Exactly as "a" in "game", shouldn't I?

I heed the approval of others. I heed not its absence.

The Sage
Procrastinator Most High

Australia
31727 Posts

Posted - 08 Nov 2005 :  13:43:14  Show Profile Send The Sage a Private Message  Reply with Quote
That sounds like a decent enough approximation.

I know others pronouce it as "bELL-or". To me though, "bA-lor" -- with hard emphasis on the "A" -- is more appropriate.

Candlekeep Forums Moderator

Candlekeep - The Library of Forgotten Realms Lore
http://www.candlekeep.com
-- Candlekeep Forum Code of Conduct

Scribe for the Candlekeep Compendium -- Volume IX now available (Oct 2007)

"So Saith Ed" -- the collected Candlekeep replies of Ed Greenwood

Zhoth'ilam Folio -- The Electronic Misadventures of a Rambling Sage
Go to Top of Page

Crennen FaerieBane
Master of Realmslore

USA
1378 Posts

Posted - 08 Nov 2005 :  14:41:05  Show Profile Send Crennen FaerieBane a Private Message  Reply with Quote
I have always heard it was a "BAY-lor" as well - and I've met too many on adventures (seems every DM likes to throw damn demons at me! )

C-Fb

Still rockin' the Fey'ri style.
Go to Top of Page

Darkheyr
Learned Scribe

264 Posts