Candlekeep Forum
Candlekeep Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Private Messages | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Forgotten Realms Journals
 General Forgotten Realms Chat
 Stone to Flesh question . . .
 New Topic  New Poll New Poll
 Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

wwwwwww
Learned Scribe

116 Posts

Posted - 11 Dec 2004 :  14:44:56  Show Profile  Visit wwwwwww's Homepage Send wwwwwww a Private Message  Reply with Quote  Delete Topic
I'll admit I'm no expert on the rules, so I though I'd bring up a question that's been on my mind lately. In regards to Stone to Flesh, does the object in question have to be formerly living? Meaning, you couldn't cast StF on a stone table and turn in to life, or cast in on a chisled statue of a warrior an turn it to life, correct?

Kentinal
Great Reader

4687 Posts

Posted - 11 Dec 2004 :  15:19:57  Show Profile Send Kentinal a Private Message  Reply with Quote
I have not seen any official ruling on this, however I would say yes nactual stone can be turned into flesh, however not living a creature. In your examples the table nor the statue would not become alive, moving ceature it would just be something that could be cut up, eaten, cooked, etc.

Edir: Just looked at 3.5 write up.

" The spell also can convert a mass of stone into a fleshy substance. Such flesh is inert and lacking a vital life force unless a life force or magical energy is available. (For example, this spell would turn a stone golem into a flesh golem, but an ordinary statue would become a corpse.) You can affect an object that fits within a cylinder from 1 foot to 3 feet in diameter and up to 10 feet long or a cylinder of up to those dimensions in a larger mass of stone."

"Small beings can have small wisdom," the dragon said. "And small wise beings are better than small fools. Listen: Wisdom is caring for afterwards."