Candlekeep Forum
Candlekeep Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Private Messages | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Forgotten Realms Journals
 Running the Realms
 New Excel Based Random NPC generator
 New Topic  New Poll New Poll
 Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

chamber101
Seeker

57 Posts

Posted - 16 Apr 2011 :  03:14:57  Show Profile Send chamber101 a Private Message  Reply with Quote  Delete Topic
I'm no excel expert and if you unhide the tabs you can see why!!! (you can also mess with feats and skills)
It is still a work in progress to some extent.
But i'm really pleased with this instant NPC generator made in Excel 2007 using d&d 3.5 rules.
The background generator from Herobuilders Handbook is in there too on the 'background' tab.
It generates 10 male and 10 female NPCs in a single key stroke complete with names, skills, appearance, personality, stats and feats etc.
As a note, I've messed with the NPC class skills a little bit (for example; allowing bluff and diplomacy for courtesans as class skills even though they are commoners) so it suits my campaign better.
The feats automatically adjust the skills, saves etc.
I'm pretty proud of the random name generation as it is region correct and the elven names have the common translation next to them (i've used Tolkiens Seldarine where I could not find Faerunian elven.
Anyway, it might be helpful even if used as just a name generator.

http://www.mediafire.com/?n8p8jcjm388dnvf

Edited by - chamber101 on 12 May 2011 15:46:33

Lord Karsus
Great Reader

USA
3740 Posts

Posted - 16 Apr 2011 :  07:05:38  Show Profile Send Lord Karsus a Private Message  Reply with Quote
-You can find an extensive list of Faerūnian Elven names here, and an updated list in my Elves of Faerūn (how many new names EoF has, as compared to my listing that's hosted here, I don't even remember anymore, though).