Candlekeep Forum
Candlekeep Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Private Messages | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Forgotten Realms Products
 Forgotten Realms Novels
 Editor's get a bum rap?
 New Topic  New Poll New Poll
 Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 5

GMWestermeyer
Learned Scribe

USA
215 Posts

Posted - 01 Mar 2011 :  00:49:51  Show Profile  Visit GMWestermeyer's Homepage Send GMWestermeyer a Private Message  Reply with Quote  Delete Topic
Okay, NOT the current editors or this "no novels set before 4e" stuff I've just heard about...

I was in the Bard's Rumor's sections and I noticed in the carious compilation of author notes the constant refrain that the editors said I had to do this, the editors made me change this, the editors cut that and so on and so forth.

Now, I write for a living, not fiction, but history. I generally find editors very helpful, but I have the advantage that on content, I get the last word because they are not the subject matter experts, I am. So I readily admit my personal experiences may not be appropriate here.

That said, I started to wonder if this excuse had become a bit too convenient for FR writers.

What do we think? Do FR editors have far too much power historically? Should we be blaming the editors more vorciferously for things we don't like?

I'm back and forth on this myself, so I'm really curious what others think.

"Facts are meaningless. You can use facts to prove anything that is even remotely true."
Homer Simpson, _The Simspons_

Faraer
Great Reader

3308 Posts

Posted - 01 Mar 2011 :  01:29:29  Show Profile  Visit Faraer's Homepage Send Faraer a Private Message  Reply with Quote
I edit for a living, and . . .