Candlekeep Forum
Candlekeep Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Private Messages | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Forgotten Realms Journals
 General Forgotten Realms Chat
 (4e) Some questions about Netheril
 New Topic  New Poll New Poll
 Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

FlimFlam69
Acolyte

5 Posts

Posted - 21 Jul 2009 :  22:21:46  Show Profile  Visit FlimFlam69's Homepage Send FlimFlam69 a Private Message  Reply with Quote  Delete Topic
I am fairly new to the Forgotten Realms setting and I have a few general questions about Netheril. I am running the starter campaign in the 4e FR Campaign book (where you start in Loudwater, a town within Netheril) and I want to expand upon this particular realm, but the answers to my questions can't be found within the campaign book.

It seems like there is a lot of talk about Netherese spies and how Cormyr (and other bordering realms) is on high guard against Netheril. Is Netheril considered an "evil" empire, kind of like Mordor in Lord of the Rings?

How do the common folk and adventurers native to Netheril see their rulers? Are they tyrants? Do the people feel oppressed by them? Or are most people patriotic to the causes of their rulers and country?

I may have other questions later on, but these are the basic ones. Thanks in advance!

Ashe Ravenheart
Great Reader

USA
3240 Posts

Posted - 21 Jul 2009 :  22:40:06  Show Profile Send Ashe Ravenheart a Private Message  Reply with Quote
Wow... So much to cover.

If you have a chance, pick up the Return of the Archwizards trilogy of novels to give you a backstory of the city of Shade. If not, then I recommend taking a look at the Campaign Journal section in the Player's Guide to Faerūn where it summarizes the city's return from the Shadow Plane.