Author |
Topic  |
gwalchavad
Acolyte
USA
31 Posts |
Posted - 21 Aug 2009 : 23:16:22
|
I don't know now on the first question. If what wenin said is what the rule says then fireball would not go off... If what I said were the case and he could not 'start casting' until fireball was started then fireball would go off... Anyone have an official answer on this? I do believe that the silencing casters init would reset to imediatly after the fireballing caster... again not an official answer, I could definately be wrong on this...
that being said, could a wizard being intelegent roll SC and see what the cleric intended if infact some 'precasting' was involved, and thus bluff a cast, causing the silence spell, move action out of the AOE and still have his standard action to cast? |
 |
|
Wenin
Senior Scribe
  
585 Posts |
Posted - 22 Aug 2009 : 02:39:22
|
quote:
Readying an Action You can ready a standard action, a move action, or a free action. To do so, specify the action you will take and the conditions under which you will take it. Then, any time before your next action, you may take the readied action in response to that condition. The action occurs just before the action that triggers it. If the triggered action is part of another character’s activities, you interrupt the other character. Assuming he is still capable of doing so, he continues his actions once you complete your readied action. Your initiative result changes. For the rest of the encounter, your initiative result is the count on which you took the readied action, and you act immediately ahead of the character whose action triggered your readied action.
You can take a 5-foot step as part of your readied action, but only if you don’t otherwise move any distance during the round.
http://www.d20srd.org/srd/combat/specialInitiativeActions.htm A and B bump into each other, and roll initative A's Initiative = 14 B's Initiative = 10
A moves 30' to take cover, and takes a ready action with a trigger of "If B starts to cast, I cast silence"
On B's initiative, he begins to cast a spell. A Interrupts B, casting FIRST. B's spell is ruined, and moves to take cover.
2nd Round A goes first with a new initative of 10 (as if A had a higher dex modifier than B)
There is no roll that Caster B can make, to know what spell, if any that Caster A is readying to cast, because Caster A hasn't started to cast yet.
Caster B could Bluff, Caster A into thinking that he is casting a spell. No rules on which skill Caster A would use to determine if Caster B was casting a spell... is it Sense Motive, or Spellcraft? Or Both?
Bluff vs Spellcraft? I don't know
If Caster A was Counterspelling, it is simply Spellcraft vs DC 15 + spell level.
Perhaps Spellcraft vs DC 15, to know that Caster B is not actually casting a spell.
The bluffing technique isn't defined by the rules, but in my game I think I would go with the Spellcraft vs DC 15
Or
quote: Final Answer Spellcraft vs DC 15 + Caster B's Bluff skill (Skill cannot be higher than the caster's highest Spell Level) Caster B's ability bonuses wouldn't factor into the check.
|
Session Reports posted at RPG Geek. Stem the Tide Takes place in Mistledale. Dark Curtains - Takes place in the Savage North, starting in Nesmé. I wrapped my campaign into the Hoard of the Dragon Queen, but it takes place in 1372 DR. |
Edited by - Wenin on 22 Aug 2009 02:52:03 |
 |
|
Topic  |
|
|
|