| Author |
Topic  |
|
|
Ionik Knight
Learned Scribe
 
USA
222 Posts |
Posted - 07 Jan 2009 : 12:21:29
|
On page 54 of PHB 3.5 is says "Armor of any type interferes with a sorcerer's arcane gestures, which can his spells with somatic components to fail." It says much the same thing about Wizards on page 55. Does this mean that spells lacking the somatic component, including those using the Still Spell feat, can be cast in armor without penalty?
Thanks in Advance
|
Fools to right of them, Jesters to left of them, Clowns in front of them Pun'd and parody'd. |
|
|
freyar
Learned Scribe
 
Canada
220 Posts |
Posted - 07 Jan 2009 : 13:21:46
|
That's the idea. Here's the SRD text from the armor section:
quote: Arcane Spell Failure: Armor interferes with the gestures that a spellcaster must make to cast an arcane spell that has a somatic component. Arcane spellcasters face the possibility of arcane spell failure if they’re wearing armor. Bards can wear light armor without incurring any arcane spell failure chance for their bard spells.
Casting an Arcane Spell in Armor: A character who casts an arcane spell while wearing armor must usually make an arcane spell failure roll. The number in the Arcane Spell Failure Chance column on Table: Armor and Shields is the chance that the spell fails and is ruined. If the spell lacks a somatic component, however, it can be cast with no chance of arcane spell failure.
Shields: If a character is wearing armor and using a shield, add the two numbers together to get a single arcane spell failure chance.
|
My DnD Links and Creations |
Edited by - freyar on 07 Jan 2009 13:22:12 |
 |
|
|
Ionik Knight
Learned Scribe
 
USA
222 Posts |
Posted - 08 Jan 2009 : 12:12:14
|
| Thanks much Freyar, I was confused since I don't recall a similar exception in older rules other than elves and elven chain mail. |
Fools to right of them, Jesters to left of them, Clowns in front of them Pun'd and parody'd. |
 |
|
|
Wooly Rupert
Master of Mischief

    
USA
36971 Posts |
Posted - 08 Jan 2009 : 14:59:55
|
quote: Originally posted by Ionik Knight
Thanks much Freyar, I was confused since I don't recall a similar exception in older rules other than elves and elven chain mail.
Older rules pretty much just said that if you wear armor, you're not casting any spells. The spell failure chances came with 3E, and it's a somewhat more reasonable system than the old one. |
Candlekeep Forums Moderator
Candlekeep - The Library of Forgotten Realms Lore http://www.candlekeep.com -- Candlekeep Forum Code of Conduct
I am the Giant Space Hamster of Ill Omen!  |
 |
|
|
Lord Karsus
Great Reader
    
USA
3766 Posts |
Posted - 15 Jan 2009 : 17:50:21
|
| -Any Class (or Prestige Class) that allows the character to become an 'Armored Mage', or some such wording, throws out any Spell Failure while wearing certain armors (light ones, usually). |
(A Tri-Partite Arcanist Who Has Forgotten More Than Most Will Ever Know) |
 |
|
| |
Topic  |
|