Candlekeep Forum
Candlekeep Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Private Messages | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Welcome to Candlekeep
 Well Met, and Welcome to the Forums
 Getting started
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Brynweir
Senior Scribe

USA
436 Posts

Posted - 25 May 2003 :  17:26:37  Show Profile Send Brynweir a Private Message  Reply with Quote  Delete Topic
I was heavily into AD&D in college, but then our DM discovered GURPS. We left D&D and went straight into Star Wars. It has been almost five years since I have participated in any serious RP of any kind and I sorely miss it. Therefore I have two questions. One, where should I begin in order to get caught up on FR lore? (mind you, I am a teacher and have no money). Two, is there anywhere online to participate in an ongoing role-play? I know no one anywhere near where I live who has an unbiased opinion of RPG and the few who are into "games" are too unusual for me to be around for very long. All the people I used to run with live out of state, and most are "too busy" in their RL to get back into RP. I have been reading several posts here at Candlekeep and many of you seem to be very friendly and helpful, as well as highly creative and resourceful. I was hoping to become more involved. (I have very little time to actually spend "with" a role-playing group, but I thought if it were online I might be able to participate.)

Anyone who likes to read something that's really dark and gritty and completely awesome ought to read The Night Angel Trilogy by Brent Weeks. You can check out a little taste at www.BrentWeeks.com I should probably warn you, though, that it is definitely not PG-13 :-D

He also started a new Trilogy with Black Prism, which may even surpass the Night Angel Trilogy in its awesomeness.

Artalis
Senior Scribe

USA
444 Posts