Candlekeep Forum
Candlekeep Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Private Messages | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

 All Forums
 Forgotten Realms Journals
 General Forgotten Realms Chat
 Help Please

Note: You must be registered in order to post a reply.
To register, click here. Registration is FREE!

Screensize:
UserName:
Password:
Format Mode:
Format: BoldItalicizedUnderlineStrikethrough Align LeftCenteredAlign Right Horizontal Rule Insert HyperlinkInsert Email Insert CodeInsert QuoteInsert List
   
Message:

* HTML is OFF
* Forum Code is ON
Smilies
Smile [:)] Big Smile [:D] Cool [8D] Blush [:I]
Tongue [:P] Evil [):] Wink [;)] Clown [:o)]
Black Eye [B)] Eight Ball [8] Frown [:(] Shy [8)]
Shocked [:0] Angry [:(!] Dead [xx(] Sleepy [|)]
Kisses [:X] Approve [^] Disapprove [V] Question [?]
Rolling Eyes [8|] Confused [?!:] Help [?:] King [3|:]
Laughing [:OD] What [W] Oooohh [:H] Down [:E]

  Check here to include your profile signature.
Check here to subscribe to this topic.
    

T O P I C    R E V I E W
Wrigs13 Posted - 29 Jan 2009 : 20:33:36
Hi,

The War Hulk prestige class has the No Time To Think ability, which states that int, wis & cha skills have effective ranks of 0, even if ranks have been previously bought in them.

Does this mean that a character that could previously use a trained only skill, such as knowledge dungeoneering, now can no longer use that skill at all, or can they still use the skill but with no bonus from ranks previously held?

What does everyone think?

I can feel an arguement brewing at my next session.

Cheers
6   L A T E S T    R E P L I E S    (Newest First)
Ashe Ravenheart Posted - 29 Jan 2009 : 22:46:54
Trained only means that you have to have at least a half-rank in the skill to be able to use it (Jack of All Trades gives you a 'virtual' half-rank in all skills so you can use them). The War Hulk class removes all ranks, so it means that he can no longer use those skills.
Wrigs13 Posted - 29 Jan 2009 : 21:34:44
But do you think this now means Trained Only skills become unuseable?
Wrigs13 Posted - 29 Jan 2009 : 21:33:47
I wouldn't either but you don't know my PC

This stacked on an Annis Hag with a Titan Bloodline!

Not so much roleplay more HULK SMASH!
Kilvan Posted - 29 Jan 2009 : 21:30:58
Here's how it works. He can still use any skill based on CHA, INT or WIS but he ONLY applies his attribute bonus to the roll. If he spent 10 points in diplomacy in earlier levels, it's gone. Intimidate is unaffected. The guy is a witless brute, not a PrC I'd use for a PC.
Wrigs13 Posted - 29 Jan 2009 : 20:48:42
It comes from the miniatures handbook, bit obscure I know
Kilvan Posted - 29 Jan 2009 : 20:46:46
I don't know that PrC. From which sourcebook does it come from? My guess would be that he can still use the skill, but with no bonus, but I'd like to read the class description to make sure.

Candlekeep Forum © 1999-2025 Candlekeep.com Go To Top Of Page
Snitz Forums 2000