Candlekeep Forum
Candlekeep Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Private Messages | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Forgotten Realms Journals
 Running the Realms
 Priests and Clergy of the Realms
 New Topic  New Poll New Poll
 Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Eilserus
Master of Realmslore

USA
1446 Posts

Posted - 02 Jan 2012 :  17:47:26  Show Profile Send Eilserus a Private Message  Reply with Quote  Delete Topic
So reading through various 2nd edition books, I'll occasionally see something about a local temple that does healing for fees and whatnot. I'm curious, are adventurers the only ones who are charged? Let's say I'm a local peasant farmer and my daughter comes down with a sickness of sorts. Do priests help these people or turn them away because the peasant most likely can't pay 50 gold or more to cure his daughter of a wasting disease? Or someone from a small village travels with a sick family member to a city like Arabel or Suzail etc seeking a priestly cure for a sick family member? Will the church demand payment such as a portion of the farmer's harvest?

If I was personally rolling around the Realms as a priest, I'd cure sick people for free, blab about the merits of my god and try to convert others, but probably wouldn't charge gold unless it was those of the adventuring type and maybe not even then. There has to be priests or temples that operate that way wouldn't you think?

Just one of those weird thoughts that seems to be driving me crazy. What do you fellow scribes think?

Kentinal
Great Reader

4687 Posts

Posted - 02 Jan 2012 :  19:14:29  Show Profile Send Kentinal a Private Message  Reply with Quote