Candlekeep Forum
Candlekeep Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Private Messages | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Forgotten Realms Journals
 General Forgotten Realms Chat
 Demi-humans in Kara-Tur
 New Topic  New Poll New Poll
 Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Psychiclemon
Acolyte

United Kingdom
2 Posts

Posted - 23 Jan 2010 :  15:45:34  Show Profile  Visit Psychiclemon's Homepage Send Psychiclemon a Private Message  Reply with Quote  Delete Topic
Hi, complete noob here so this might be the wrong place to ask this but im sure someone can move it to the relevant place if it is.

Anyway, I recently got hold of the Kara-Tur campaign setting and noticed that it doesnt seem to mention the usual demi human races (Elves, Dwarves, Halflings etc) at all. Do they exist in Kara-Tur and if so in what sort of numbers compared to Faerun? Also if they do exist there do they share the same culture as their western cousins or do they have a completely different outlook like the various races in Zakhara.

The Sage
Procrastinator Most High

Australia
31727 Posts

Posted - 23 Jan 2010 :  16:17:32  Show Profile Send The Sage a Private Message  Reply with Quote
Well, the korobokuru are the Oriental-equivalent of "western" dwarves. But the actual races themselves have never really received all that much attention in the Kara-Tur material. And, as I recall, a search of the PDF for the Kara-Tur Campaign Setting revealed virtually nothing about them in terms of references.

So, while I suspect there are undoubtedly elves, halflings, and dwarves throughout the lands of the far east, I would assume that they're hardly of any appreciable amount. Thus, there's been few reasons to mention them specifically in the published material.