Candlekeep Forum
Candlekeep Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Private Messages | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

 All Forums
 Forgotten Realms Products
 D&D Core Products
 A question ...

Note: You must be registered in order to post a reply.
To register, click here. Registration is FREE!

Screensize:
UserName:
Password:
Format Mode:
Format: BoldItalicizedUnderlineStrikethrough Align LeftCenteredAlign Right Horizontal Rule Insert HyperlinkInsert Email Insert CodeInsert QuoteInsert List
   
Message:

* HTML is OFF
* Forum Code is ON
Smilies
Smile [:)] Big Smile [:D] Cool [8D] Blush [:I]
Tongue [:P] Evil [):] Wink [;)] Clown [:o)]
Black Eye [B)] Eight Ball [8] Frown [:(] Shy [8)]
Shocked [:0] Angry [:(!] Dead [xx(] Sleepy [|)]
Kisses [:X] Approve [^] Disapprove [V] Question [?]
Rolling Eyes [8|] Confused [?!:] Help [?:] King [3|:]
Laughing [:OD] What [W] Oooohh [:H] Down [:E]

  Check here to include your profile signature.
Check here to subscribe to this topic.
    

T O P I C    R E V I E W
George Krashos Posted - 19 Mar 2011 : 12:01:09
Does anyone know if the spell "backlash" was ever updated to 3E? If so, can they give me the source/product? Thanks in advance.

-- George Krashos
10   L A T E S T    R E P L I E S    (Newest First)
Ayrik Posted - 20 Mar 2011 : 20:11:13
If the two polymorph (people) spells were merged into a single polymorph then it quite likely can be used on self/others as needed, unless described otherwise. Sorry, I'm primarily 2E.
Diffan Posted - 20 Mar 2011 : 11:58:52
quote:
Originally posted by Arik

Polymorph self, of course. Polymorph other, yes, though it carries some risk. Since both spells exist, and are same level, I've always assumed polymorph self is the only one casters would ever use on themselves.



It depends on what edition ur using. In 3e, Ploymorph is a 4th lvl spell. Baleful Polymorph is 5th level, and Polymorph any Object is an 8th level spell.
Ayrik Posted - 20 Mar 2011 : 04:29:38
Polymorph self, of course. Polymorph other, yes, though it carries some risk. Since both spells exist, and are same level, I've always assumed polymorph self is the only one casters would ever use on themselves.
Diffan Posted - 20 Mar 2011 : 04:12:42
quote:
Originally posted by George Krashos

Oh, and another question: can you cast the spell 'polymorph' on yourself?

-- George Krashos




Yea, it's a common practice of "gish" style characters. Often polymorphing into say.... a Troll or Umber Hulk while still be able to cast potent spells is a big boon. There is also Trollshape which gives you added benefits of the Troll (such as Regeneration I believe).

George Krashos Posted - 20 Mar 2011 : 02:13:24
Oh, and another question: can you cast the spell 'polymorph' on yourself?

-- George Krashos
George Krashos Posted - 20 Mar 2011 : 01:14:05
Thanks Diffan. I was on the right track but thought that the spell was one that had a name changed in that list at the front. When I didn;t see it there, I didn't think to look in the body of text proper. Much obliged.

-- George Krashos
Ayrik Posted - 19 Mar 2011 : 23:09:46
quote:
Diffan —So sayeth the Spell Compendium, p.23


I can't believe I missed that.
Diffan Posted - 19 Mar 2011 : 14:16:46
So sayeth the Spell Compendium, p.23

Backlash
Transmutation
Level: Sorcerer/wizard 4
.....
Description: Subject takes damage if it uses spells against another creature.

I'd add in the full description but I can't be sure if this is....illegal or some such. Suffice to say, if that description meets previous edition's description then it's there.

Hope that helps.
George Krashos Posted - 19 Mar 2011 : 13:02:13
"Drow of the Underdark" was one of the 2E sources that had it.

-- George Krashos
Ayrik Posted - 19 Mar 2011 : 12:50:41
Backlash sounds familiar but I can't recall it ... where did it appear in 1E/2E?

It's definitely not in any of my 3E/3.5E stuff, and I believe I have everything that isn't DDI.

Candlekeep Forum © 1999-2025 Candlekeep.com Go To Top Of Page
Snitz Forums 2000