T O P I C R E V I E W |
Songrimm |
Posted - 03 Jun 2005 : 02:19:58 just a simple question. is there a way to recharge staffs, wands and other items with charges? i coulnt find anything in the core books. thanks in advance for the help. |
5 L A T E S T R E P L I E S (Newest First) |
Thelonius |
Posted - 08 Jul 2005 : 20:56:24 If I recall correctly there was an artifact in NWN that could recharge items as wands by using the magical power of other item you had to destroy, it was called electrizer or something like that (sorry about the translation problems fellows...) |
Fletcher |
Posted - 05 Jul 2005 : 20:38:33 I have a house rule that recharging an item is 75% of the original base cost, though you have to repay all xp and material expense again for things like stone skin. No skimping out on that stuff.
This has made my players make items with more personality and use them with more flair.
|
Thureen Buroch |
Posted - 02 Jul 2005 : 17:18:13 There's an artifact in Magic of Faerun pg 169 called the glowstone. It has multiple powers, and can be found with d%X10 charges. One of its many powers is that it can use up its charges on a one for one basis to recharge other magic items.
Hope this helps ... |
Kentinal |
Posted - 03 Jun 2005 : 02:40:37 quote: Originally posted by Songrimm
just a simple question. is there a way to recharge staffs, wands and other items with charges? i coulnt find anything in the core books. thanks in advance for the help.
There is nothing in core rules to support rechraging items. In some respests there realy are no costs in making a new wand as oposed to recraging one. The Wand itself costs nothing. The staves do have some costs in addition to the cost of the magic.
The one factor of recarging as oposed to crafting a new wand is time. I have seen varient rules that would allow 10 charges to be readded at one time. Other ideas are more along the line of treating all items like a ring of spell storing, can be charged with unused spells at the end of the day. |
KnightErrantJR |
Posted - 03 Jun 2005 : 02:28:31 There is an alternate rule in the new Unearthed Arcana rulebook that says that you might allow characters to recharge a magic item for either 10% or 20% + the % of charges that you want to recharge in gold peices that it took to make the item in the first place (I cannot remember off hand if it was 20 or 10 percent). The point is that if you use more than 80% or 90% of your power, you may as well just make a new staff, but if you recharge it at say half power it is still cheaper . . .
At any rate, you can find it much more professionally described in the 3.5 Unearthed Arcana. |