| T O P I C R E V I E W |
| Wrigs13 |
Posted - 27 Feb 2009 : 09:54:40 If a player has a innate racial spell-like ability that has an associated caster level for determining effectiveness, does this count as actually having a caster level?
My player wants to know if he can take a feat with a prerequisite spellcaster level. Would this apply?
I am of the opinion it doesn't qualify the character for the feat but I would like to hear anyone elses opinion or if there is a clarification in a book somewhere all the better.
Cheers. |
| 5 L A T E S T R E P L I E S (Newest First) |
| Wrigs13 |
Posted - 02 Mar 2009 : 09:03:06 I'm glad everyone agrees.  |
| Markustay |
Posted - 27 Feb 2009 : 15:30:42 Which further proves my point - such feats would not exist if they weren't needed, which means a Spell-like ability is not the same AT ALL as the spell itself.
As I have said, the existance of exceptions proves the need for such exceptions to exist.
Thats what I refer to as a "player trying to squeek one by his DM". I've done it myself, and have had it tried on me. |
| Ashe Ravenheart |
Posted - 27 Feb 2009 : 13:36:19 There are feats in the Monster Manual that work on spell-like abilities. There may be more in some other 'monster-centric' books. Here's the three that I know of:
Ability Focus Empower Spell-like Ability Quicken Spell-like Ability
As a rule, the CL of spell-like abilities is there to determine things like DC's and other effects such as whether a Dispel Magic check will work against it. |
| Markustay |
Posted - 27 Feb 2009 : 13:32:00 NO
There are certain abilites that specifically say they can be used in lieu of the normal prerequisite for certain Feats (the Ranger comes to mind), but unless such a specific situation is listed in the abilites description, then NO.
The existance of such exceptions precludes the notion that everything can be used as an exception.
Besides, Innate abilites do NOT grant magic levels, regardless. You need the actual prerequisite. Just because I'm good at tying knots doesn't make me good at Seamanship. |
| Kilvan |
Posted - 27 Feb 2009 : 12:51:55 quote: Originally posted by Wrigs13
If a player has a innate racial spell-like ability that has an associated caster level for determining effectiveness, does this count as actually having a caster level?
My player wants to know if he can take a feat with a prerequisite spellcaster level. Would this apply?
I am of the opinion it doesn't qualify the character for the feat but I would like to hear anyone elses opinion or if there is a clarification in a book somewhere all the better.
Cheers.
I'm pretty sure he can't do that. I could not tell you why, beside common sense. I any case, even if he found some rule that would allow him to do something similar, I still would not allow it. I don't think it is possible for WOtC to write down every single possibility that a player could find to twist a rule to his advantage. That's where the DM's job steps in. A D&D gaming table is not a democracy, its a monarchy (some might say DMs are dictator, monarch sounds nicer).  |